There’s Nothing Like A Cuppa

Today’s theme from #drawriot is cup. Being a tea lover, having a cuppa, as my British friend Ros says, is a favorite punctuation to my day. In fact, my day doesn’t really start until I have my oversized cup of green tea. I love all types of tea: chai, white tea, black tea, jasmine tea, rooibos just to name a few.

I didn’t grow up in a tea family. My grandpa Nathan was the only tea drinker, consuming it in the old country way, from a glass that was held by the thumb on the top rim and index finger on the bottom. My parents were both coffee drinkers. Depending who put on the percolator on in the morning, it was either “water” (made by my dad) or “mud” (concocted by my mother).

My mother had a teacup collection with china styles from all over the world. It was a special way to have a souvenir. Even the most luxurious design could be affordable to a family that never could have afforded the whole set. So this was a collection of treasures and when my mother died, my sisters and I divided it up with special care.

So reacups became part of my ouvre in their own series. I haven’t done one in a while  so this was just fun. img_7569

If you want to follow the draw riot, click here.

What do you like to drink when you have a cuppa?

About karenfriedland

I am a visual artist-- painter, sculptor, photographer-- coloring the world. My travels take me to many places around the world and I love connecting with others at home and on my trips. I am also a teacher (art), business person and creativity and business coach. My website is: www.ArtistKaren.com. I am so glad you have visited my blog!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

