MY ART IN THE ART SPARKS BLOG HOP

Art Sparks Creative Project Card Deck affords lots of ways to charge up your creativity. So I asked some artists to give them a try and see what they think. So 10 artists will pick a card and project and make a post or video about it, 2 artists each day for the next 5 days. Each day, they will be giving away Art Sparks Card Decks and other goodies.

I used card #8. It looked like this:screen-shot-2016-10-30-at-10-15-34-pm

I diluted the black paint so it would go on easily, although it didn’t completely stick to the slick foil. I carefully turned it over on my board and used the back of my paintbrush to write on the foil and transfer the paint.

I looked at the black lines and marks from every direction to see if I saw the beginnings of images in the lines. I saw a sleeping face and the start of an elephant. I added transparent colors in a first layer, allowing me to see the black through the color.

I kept turning the piece to see what images came forward for me. My pinky paint seemed to find its way from an elephant’s head, down the trunk.  screen-shot-2016-10-30-at-7-45-24-pmI refined the forms with more layers of paint.

 

At one point I added white to push back some of the shapes that were not what I wanted. The central focus was a tree, whose branches lead your eye up to the swirling lines, like leaves blowing.
screen-shot-2016-10-30-at-7-46-03-pm

 

 

 

Here is the final painting!

 

 

 

 

To see my whole process in video (really sped up), click below.

Get your own ART SPARKS Card Deck at bit.ly/artsparksdeck

You can see and share gets made with the Art Sparks Card Deck by joining our Facebook group – ART SPARKS CREATIVITY. See you there!

WIN AN ART SPARKS CARD DECK or FRAMED ART PRINT!

You enter by leaving a comment below telling me what you think about my or other’s creative process.  

Other stuff to do to get more entries? Each action will give you another entry into the drawing.

Visit the site of my partner artist today, Sadelle Wiltshire at Tangle Vermont, by clicking here. Then each day visit these other artists’ blogs to learn about their process and win other giveaways!

ART SPARKS BLOG HOP LINE UP

Monday, October 31, 2016 Karen Friedland

Sadelle Wiltshire

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Uh-TTqwInuo

http://www.tanglevermont.com/2016/10/playing-with-a-full-deck-art-sparks

Tuesday, November 1 Jeri Bellini

Yva Lovee Barbour

http://myartsandparts.blogspot.com/2016/10/hi-everyone-i-was-asked-recently-to.html

https://youtu.be/09IWLYPjv4g

Wednesday, November 2 Barb Owen

Tiare Smith

http://howtogetcreative.com/blog/art-sparks-creative-projects-deck-blog-hop/

http://tiaresmith.com/2016/11/art-sparks-blog-hop/

Thursday, November 3 Gina Ahrens

Melissa Partridge

http://ginabahrens.com/blog_page

http://www.colormehappybymelissa.com/art-sparks-blog-hop/

Friday, November 4 Kiala Givehand

Tori Weyers

http://kialagivehand.com/blog

http://www.drawriot.com/single-post/2016/11/04/Art-Sparks-Inspired-Art-Journal

Giveaway rules: Giveaway is open to US residents only. Entrants must be 18 years of age and up. No purchase necessary. Void where prohibited. Comment entries close 11:59pm, on November 6, 2016. Winner will be chosen by random drawing on November 7, and will be officially notified via email and must acknowledge the notification email by November 12 or the prize is forfeit and will be given to the runner up. Prizes will be shipped within a month of getting the winner’s selection shipping address.

 

About karenfriedland

I am a visual artist-- painter, sculptor, photographer-- coloring the world. My travels take me to many places around the world and I love connecting with others at home and on my trips. I am also a teacher (art), business person and creativity and business coach. My website is: www.ArtistKaren.com. I am so glad you have visited my blog!
This entry was posted in Art Sparks Card Deck, blog hop, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to MY ART IN THE ART SPARKS BLOG HOP

  1. joyfroggie says:

    Loved the result you got. Will be getting Art Sparks one way or another. Thank you!!!

    Joyfully,

    Dianne (aka joyfroggie)
    Joyfroggier@yahoo.com

  2. OMG!!!!!! I am in love with the black paint on the foil technique. What a grand concept. I would love to win a set of cards. Your talent is phenomenal. Thanks you so much for sharing.

  3. Rita Montgomery says:

    I’m signed up to follow your blog. Thank you for your great ideas.

  4. Rita Montgomery says:

    I am now following you on Pinterest. Great boards!!

  5. Rita Montgomery says:

    I signed up for your mailing list.

  6. Rita Montgomery says:

    The art work on your cards are just stunning. I really need these types of prompts to get me going. Thanks for the chance to win your cards.

  7. Kristin McKee says:

    Thanks for the fun project. That is something I would have never thought to try. I joined your mailing list, followed on pinterest, instagram and facebook.

  8. Mary Ellen Meynig says:

    I found out about this via Yva Lovee. Your cards are beautiful and the prompts that I’ve seen so far on them are so creative.

  9. Laura Edwards says:

    I also did all the requirements.
    Thanks!

  10. Laura Edwards says:

    I NEED INSPIRATION AND NEW IDEAS! WOULD LOVE TO WIN A DECK OF CARDS AS I’M ON DISABILITY AND CAN’T AFFORD TO BUY A SET. THANK YOU!

  11. This is so cool! Jut had a minute, but I can still be part of it. Will share later. I need at least two decks, one for myself and one to give away. Love!

  12. Marilyn Davidson says:

    I loved watching the image emerge in your painting process. It’s as if the elephant was waiting for you to find him. Fun video. It was interesting to see Sadelle’s work on the same day. A very different approach, showing off the diversity of the cards.

    • Thanx Marilyn. It was funny the way both those elephants appeared. Worked hard to get the video up so I’m glad you liked it. I’m loving the different stuff people do with the cards!

  13. Pingback: Art Sparks Blog Hop Creative Project Cards & Giveaway! | Yva Lovée Arts

  14. Pingback: Playing with a Full Deck… Art Sparks Blog Hop | Tangle Vermont

  15. Pingback: ART SPARKS BLOG HOP | Coloring the World

Leave a Reply

