INSPIRATION

I was just reading another artist’s blog where she referred to a post about what inspires her. So she inspired me to reflect on that same question and share it with you.

As I think about it, I realize that anything and everything can be a source of inspiration for me. This has increased as I am further immersed in my life as an artist.

I am inspired by nature- the colors of flowers, leaves and grasses, the variation of colors in a Stoney rock face, the greys and lavenders and flaming orange of a sunset. IMG_3566

IMG_9234

IMG_3731

IMG_0768

But likewise, the city fires me up. The shapes and geometry of the buildings & streets, the color of the light and reflection.

The people themselves inspire me with their varied attires’ colors, the fashion styling, as well as the shapes in their faces and bodies.

Plus, since I love painting animals, my travel abroad has given me much inspiration.

I guess what I mean is that after all these years of being an artist, I see with artists’ eyes. My perception turns all elements of the world to colors, forms and contrasts. I see things as a kind of tableaux, all parts fitting together in a grand puzzle. Each piece is perfectly fitted to the next, diagramed precisely to contrast or complement each adjacent unit. By perceiving the world in this way, all things become inspiration. How one color sits next to another, the way a shape stands out in uniqueness or repetition, these are things that motivate me. When something surprises or blends, calms or excites, evokes a feeling from me, that is something that I will seek to emulate in my art.

So you see, it is very difficult to pinpoint exactly what it is that inspires me, because it is everything in the internal and external world. But it really is not a difficult thing to do. It is all just a matter of paying attention…and taking a lot of photos. ;0)

What is it that inspires you?

About karenfriedland

I am a visual artist-- painter, sculptor, photographer-- coloring the world. My travels take me to many places around the world and I love connecting with others at home and on my trips. I am also a teacher (art), business person and creativity and business coach. My website is: www.ArtistKaren.com. I am so glad you have visited my blog!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

