Painting Intuitively

As I move more and more into non-objective abstraction, I use the phrase “painting intuitively” with increasing frequency. I have been thinking about it a lot lately as I am stuck on a painting that started out quite intuitively.

But if I take this literally, now that I am stuck & trying to make the painting work, I wonder, does that mean that my intuition has left me? As the painting began, I was open and free flowing, going with it where it seemed to want to go. I would stop and look and get inspired again and move the painting in that direction. It was delightful Spring colors which reflected my mood, even as we were experiencing wintry frosts. The pinks, peaches and blues were light and airy and the motion in the painting leading me dreamily.IMG_4970

Not yet there but a really solid start. Then I worked on it “intuitively” and really messed it up! I will have many hours of backtracking to get it to where I want to be. Did that mean that my intuition failed me? This is not the first time I have had to rework a painting.

A big part of painting is like figuring out a puzzle: we create problems for ourselves that we then have to solve. I have been a painter for a long time and often my intuition gets it right from the start. I think that a lot of my intuition comes from many years of practice and learning that leads me in the direction I want to go.

Most painting is intuitive within these parameters. No one told Da Vinci how to create shadows and fullness, nor Vermeer how to have light shining from his canvases. They and all painters learn and invent. Their education and practice taught them how to use their tools. But their invention is the sum of that and their intuition at play. It is the mix of their knowledge and creativeness that lets their intuition shine.

Here is one of my successful intuitive paintings. Sphere Of Influence, acrylic on gallery wrapped canvas, $2500.Version 3

What do you think? Would you like to exercise your creative intuition while honing skills to make your work successful? That’s just what we’ll be doing in the Creativity Blast Workshop. Click here to learn more.

About karenfriedland

I am a visual artist-- painter, sculptor, photographer-- coloring the world. My travels take me to many places around the world and I love connecting with others at home and on my trips. I am also a teacher (art), business person and creativity and business coach. My website is: www.ArtistKaren.com. I am so glad you have visited my blog!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Painting Intuitively

  1. Thanx Cathy. The painting has changed a lot so it has a ways to go. What do you think? Art most artist decisions ” intuitive”.?

    Can’t wait to see you!

    xo Karen

  2. Great post Karen! I agree sometimes the intuition takes you somewhere and then plays hide and seek! Love the painting! Looking forward to seeing you in a few weeks!

Leave a Reply

