SEEING THE VISION

As part of my practice as an artist and a business person, periodically I work on clarifying my vision for myself in my life, my art and my business.   This is a very creative approach for elucidating where I see myself going in future months and years. Part of this process is to create a vision board for myself using magazine collage and other art materials.

Sometimes I can find exactly what I am visualizing in a photograph or words that I cut out from the magazines. But other times they are a jumping off point for me and I add a great deal of writing.

This time  I felt that my vision is going to be really big so I used a large piece of paper folded in thirds. This gave me a lot of space to really explore different areas. I found images of lots of people who I think of as my potential customers, either for my art, my teaching or both. It was fun to throw in a few celebrities who I think might love what I do.

After visiting Africa and seeing the lack of art supplies of any kind in the classrooms, I founded Arts For Africa, a non-profit under the umbrella of Books For Africa. This therefore, is a big part of my vision.imageimageimage

The next part had to do with a lot of soul searching. For the first time ever, I decided to pick a word for the year. This word is VULNERABLITY. I feel it is time for me to be seen in my most authentic way and that includes the bumps & warts. Sharing yourself with the world makes one very vulnerable to others’ responses, something I cannot control. Hence, my word. I also  show where my focus will be in terms of goals and projects.

I have my vision board put up in my studio. It frequently inspires and motivates me. It’s there to help me stay on track.

Do you have a vision &/or vision board? I’d love if you would share it in the comments!

About karenfriedland

I am a visual artist-- painter, sculptor, photographer-- coloring the world. My travels take me to many places around the world and I love connecting with others at home and on my trips. I am also a teacher (art), business person and creativity and business coach. My website is: www.ArtistKaren.com. I am so glad you have visited my blog!
This entry was posted in Achievemnt, Africa, Inspiration, Uncategorized, visions and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

