DOODLE A DAY

Happy New Year! May 2016 bring you love, joy, health and adventure!

I had a busy holiday season seeing friends and family, eating & drinking (too much), generally having a good time. I hope yours was enjoyable too. But I have found it a bit challenging to get back into the swing of everyday life.

After enjoying the commitment of posting everyday during November and creating an elephant every day for the month, I have decided to try it again. So I have been creating what I call a “noodle doodle” each day.

IMG_4267

After enjoying the commitment of posting everyday during November and creating an elephant every day for the month, I have decided to try it again. So I have been creating what I call a “noodle doodle” each day.

IMG_4247

All of the drawings were done in sketch books. Hence the spirals at the edge. Most are done in ink.

IMG_4249

They are small, 6″ x 6″, 5″ x 7″ to 9″ x 12″.

IMG_0889

Each one evokes a different feeling, a mood. the atmosphere at the end of the day.

IMG_4262

For some, I added a touch of color. It amazes me what a difference a bit of color can make.

IMG_4224

This all came out of my reading about the meditative value of coloring, which is, studies have shown, as calming to the mind as meditation.  Since these are similar to coloring pages I’ve designed, I wanted to see if these drawings would have the same effect. Having a problem sleeping recently, I like to listen to meditations to help me get to sleep. I wondered if these drawings would have the same result.

After doing the drawings before bed several nights, I found that sleep eluded me. Just making the drawings excited me. All of them were done intuitively, letting instinct and my right brain take over. I’m continuing my doodle a day, “noodle doodle” project but not before bed.

You can see the drawings as they get posted on Instagram instagram.com/artistkarenfriedland , Facebook Facebook.com/ArtistKarenF and Twitter twitter.com/ArtistKaren . Follow me there!

What do you think? Are they the beginning of bigger or more elaborate paintings? Is there the makings of a coloring book here? Or are they complete, just the way they are?

 

Sign up for the mailing list! Get all the news & special offers! CLICK HERE

 

About karenfriedland

I am a visual artist-- painter, sculptor, photographer-- coloring the world. My travels take me to many places around the world and I love connecting with others at home and on my trips. I am also a teacher (art), business person and creativity and business coach. My website is: www.ArtistKaren.com. I am so glad you have visited my blog!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

