PICKING PATTERNS

I recently came across a call for art put out by a community group in Brooklyn in association with the city. They were looking for designs to beautify a parklet triangle at an intersection of two main streets. While it hasn’t been built yet, they plan to pave it with asphalt and were looking for artists to come up with designs to paint on the asphalt floor.

I’ve only applied a couple of times before to public works projects because they usually seem to grand scale as a place for a beginner to start. When I came across this call for submissions however, they were looking for patterns and that’s something I feel very experienced with. They wanted bold designs and colors, maximum of four, that can be painted by volunteers using stencils.

Here are 3 variations of one pattern. Color makes all the difference!

Here are 3 variations of one pattern. Color makes all the difference!

I set myself the task of coming up with the design and thought it would be just right to produce in the computer. Unfortunately, neither of my graphics programs would work. I even downloaded an app for my iPad in order to try to design it electronically. Making geometric shapes and repeating those shapes over and over seem exactly what computers do well!

Solid blue makes a background for the arrow-ended crosses to stand out.

Solid blue makes a background for the arrow-ended crosses to stand out.

I was very bummed out that I couldn’t get any of my devices to help me out on this and wasted a lot of time trying to do it. In the end, I designed the patterns by hand, using handmade stencils and the copy machine.

Alternating the colors makes for a push and pull between the arrow ended crosses and the 8 point stars.

Alternating the colors makes for a push and pull between the arrow ended crosses and the 8 point stars.

I ended up producing two different designs that I could see working well in the space. For each of these designs, I created a number of color variations but only submitted two variations for each design. It still amazes me, after being a colorist for so many years, how arrays of colors can look completely different, even when used in the same design.

By having dark purple become a background color, it highlights the pink, yellow and aqua arrows.

By having dark purple become a background color, it highlights the pink, yellow and aqua arrows.

Now you have seen the designs I submitted. Which one would you pick for painting on the asphalt?IMG_3269 (1)

About karenfriedland

I am a visual artist-- painter, sculptor, photographer-- coloring the world. My travels take me to many places around the world and I love connecting with others at home and on my trips. I am also a teacher (art), business person and creativity and business coach. My website is: www.ArtistKaren.com. I am so glad you have visited my blog!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to PICKING PATTERNS

  1. Haven’t heard anything yet. Hoping no news is good news, so please keep sending those good vibes!

  2. I just love the last one. I find the colors calming but invigorating, and the arrows flowing in two directions suggest the people moving across the paved surface.

  3. Mary says:

    I think I’d pick the second one – somehow it seems more like the “outside” to me.

Leave a Reply

