STRUGGLING WITH THE CHALLENGE

As I was struggling with what to write for this week’s blog entry. I was complaining about it to a fellow artist that I hadn’t completed any new work to share here. In fact, I have been kind of stumped lately.  I have hardly worked on my art in the last few weeks.

She urged me to share my frustrations with you, “when I see only new, completed work, (on a blog) it feels like the artist is constantly producing,. That makes me feel disheartened about my work habits. I like to know that they sometimes get stuck, that it doesn’t always go smoothly.” A good point, Shayna.

This painting got started in Mississippi Art Colony and I have worked on it for a while. It's a biggie-4 foot square.

This painting got started in Mississippi Art Colony and I have worked on it for a while. It’s a biggie-4 foot square.

So here I am fessing up. I completed a major project, which I worked on pretty consistently for 4 weeks.after bringing its start home from Mississippi Art Colony. I also started another when in Mississippi but when I started to work on it, I felt uncertain. I liked it, it was a good beginning  but going forward, I was unsure of where to take it.

This 8" square painting is the other one I've been working on in acrylic. Not sure that it has enough sparkle to be successful or complete.

This 8″ square painting is the other one I’ve been working on in acrylic. Not sure that it has enough sparkle to be successful or complete.

I made another small painting. It was ok but lacks sparkle.

I continued with an impressionistic painting I started a few months ago, in oil stick. I haven’t worked with these in quite a while. Sitting in the drawer, they got sticky and broke as I used them. It’s been a frustrating time. This is where it is right now.

Working through these periods is the advice one frequently hears. And while I agree that you will never have a good painting unless you persevere through the difficult parts, sometimes it takes more.

Here is the impressionistic landscape in oil stick, maybe 75% done. I'm struggling with the materials.

Here is the impressionistic landscape in oil stick, maybe 75% done. I’m struggling with the materials.

I decided to go back to a style and way of working that I had left behind for a while.  I started an impressionistic landscape with oil sticks.  The sticks have gotten sticky with heat and age and I’m finding it difficult to get the effects I’d like.

I believe that you should enjoy the painting process, even when it is challenging. So I will take my own advice and find a project that excites me, that makes me WANT to get painting again. I’ll let you know when I have a project that rings my bells!

About karenfriedland

I am a visual artist-- painter, sculptor, photographer-- coloring the world. My travels take me to many places around the world and I love connecting with others at home and on my trips. I am also a teacher (art), business person and creativity and business coach. My website is: www.ArtistKaren.com. I am so glad you have visited my blog!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

