DRAWING IN THE DARK

I love going to see live performances. I am a sucker for musicals and, I fact, love theater of all kinds.  A supporter of the Brave New World Repertory Theater, I have good friends in the company, making seeing their performances even more fun.

It’s really wonderful to watch dance too, probably because I always knew it was beyond my reach.  In fact, I go to the New York City Ballet at Lincoln Center regularly because we have had a subscription in my family for more than 40 years.

Somehow, watching other people engage in their art makes me want to engage in my art as well. That has led me to develop the habit of drawing in the dark.  Sometimes, it’s pitch dark and I am drawing completely blind, leading to some jumbled up drawings.   The kick I get is in being able to capture the performance in any way. I love having my art making be part of the experience!

IMG_2975

The corps du ballet all wore these wonderful tutus with a crown to top it off. Every little girl’s dream costume.

Here are some of my drawings from the last time I saw NYCB performing “A Mid Summers Nights Dream.” IMG_2973 IMG_2970

The petite powerhouse of a conductor at the New York City Ballet.

The petite powerhouse of a conductor at the New York City Ballet.

One sketch often overlaps the other

IMG_2972

Several ballerinas on one page.

  Such fun, drawing in the dark!

Performers during a recent production of

Performers during a recent production of “Major Barbara” by Brave New World Repertory Theater

About karenfriedland

I am a visual artist-- painter, sculptor, photographer-- coloring the world. My travels take me to many places around the world and I love connecting with others at home and on my trips. I am also a teacher (art), business person and creativity and business coach. My website is: www.ArtistKaren.com. I am so glad you have visited my blog!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to DRAWING IN THE DARK

  1. Artuitive says:

    Loved this! The drawings really are pretty wonderful, aren’t they?

    Susie Stockholm Artist & Teacher http://iPadArtSoCal.com http://artuitive.net

    >

Leave a Reply

