BRINGING ARTS TO AFRICA

Earlier this year, I was on a trip to Africa that took me to Malawi where I visited schools. The children were so lively and enthusiastic. They loved meeting us because we were from somewhere far away and their enthusiasm overflowed. school children Malawi

I was traveling with a contingent from Books For Africa which has donated millions of books throughout Africa and we were hosted by the Malawi National Library Service. They are key to the successful book distribution there because they sort and distribute the books they receive based on the needs of the schools throughout the country. We went to some schools that seemed to resemble our and others, those that are not at the top of the list for showing off.

These schools had no electricity, no lighting. The only source of light were clover-shaped cinder blocks that served instead of windows.Malawi school

Inside, the room was dark. Children shared desks. There was crud that crawled up the walls from the floor. The blackboard was painted on and so were instructional charts.Malawi classroomAnd while all the students were learning reading and math, not once did I see any signs of learning the arts and being creative.

I came home determined to do something about it. So I am working with my daughter, Shayna Zelko Kalish, and we are creating Arts For Africa to give these children a chance to learn and exercise their creativity.

We hope you will share this “coming soon” video with friends. I’ll keep you posted as it develops.

About karenfriedland

I am a visual artist-- painter, sculptor, photographer-- coloring the world. My travels take me to many places around the world and I love connecting with others at home and on my trips. I am also a teacher (art), business person and creativity and business coach. My website is: www.ArtistKaren.com. I am so glad you have visited my blog!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to BRINGING ARTS TO AFRICA

  1. Artuitive says:

    Definitely a noble effort. Might there be something closer to home in Brooklyn, that would benefit from your stewardship?

Leave a Reply

