THE ELEPHANT IN THE ROOM

On my second day of painting in Mississippi, I continued to wrangle with that giant-4 feet by 5 feet- abstract. It was a double challenge for me, not only because of the size but also because I have been painting mostly in the square format. Changing to a rectangle changes the whole way I design the painting. With the square format, it is likely that the center of interest will hover somewhere around the central third however, with a rectangular design, there can be A variety of focal points or the center of interest maybe to one side. Then it needs to be balanced with other elements of the design to make it successful. Having been away from rectangular design for quite a while makes it more difficult for me to figure it out.

As I contemplated my design, I reminded myself of the commitment I made to myself after traveling to Africa this winter, to generate a series of 20 pieces based on my experiences in Africa. I decided to work on the series with this piece by creating a large elephant to the right-hand side of the design. This is where I was at the end of the day. 

 

Mississippi Artcolony sponsors a competition for exhibition. Each of the artists, most of whom are local and have no transportation issues, brings a piece to be juried for inclusion in the show. There is a peer award given and each of us here gets to vote on their favorite. I’ve taken some photographs of my favorite entries into this competition.

   

  

  

 This one above is by my buddy, Cathy Hegman. A fabulous artist, she’s the reason I’m here in Mississippi. 

About karenfriedland

I am a visual artist-- painter, sculptor, photographer-- coloring the world. My travels take me to many places around the world and I love connecting with others at home and on my trips. I am also a teacher (art), business person and creativity and business coach. My website is: www.ArtistKaren.com. I am so glad you have visited my blog!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

