AFRICAN INSPIRATION

Thursday is always a busy one at this art retreat. The first day is spent getting your stuff set up and then the second, one gets working but there’s a lot of socializing as well. By the third day, which is Thursday, the pressure starts to build. One realizes that you have to get them to work because there’s only one more day left after this one! 

I worked steadily in order to get my elephant to come to life. It’s a complex painting and a complex problem to create a living creature within it. Using washes and glazes, I was able to push back the top of the painting and bring form to the elephant within. It’s a rare luxury for me to have a large wall on which to hang my work android work in large room where I can stand back and get a real perspective on it. 

I know this piece is going to take a lot more work to finish but I feel I have a certain direction that I plan to go to with it. 
Being part of Mississippi Art Colony brings with it certain responsibilities. We are charged with creating an original art trading card, known as ATC, for the guest artist, Mary Warner. The guest artist has an important role as they visit  with each of the working artists, critiquing and advising on what they are creating. She also gave the presentation of her work and tonight will critique works that each artist has brought in front of the group so we may all learn from it. This is the ATC I made as a souvenir for Mary.  

 

We were also charged to make a 12 in. square painting that is to be auctioned at the banquet on Friday night to raise money for the scholarship fund. The ATC and 12 x 12 painting were conceived on the theme of 50 shades of gray. This was a real challenge for me, as you can well imagine, since  I never work in black , white or gray. Continuing to use my photographs from the recent trip to Namibia, I made this painting. 

 

Considering I was very reticent to do this assignment, I’m pretty pleased with the results. What do you think?
 

About karenfriedland

I am a visual artist-- painter, sculptor, photographer-- coloring the world. My travels take me to many places around the world and I love connecting with others at home and on my trips. I am also a teacher (art), business person and creativity and business coach. My website is: www.ArtistKaren.com. I am so glad you have visited my blog!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to AFRICAN INSPIRATION

  1. Shayna says:

    I LOVE your abstract elephant!

Leave a Reply

