BIG CANVAS

Here I am in Mississippi! One would think it would be warm and balmy but instead it was in the mid 50s and raining. I am ill prepared for it, wearing crop pants, a light cardigan and Birkenstocks. After eating breakfast, I headed up to the outdoor pavilion where I was to set up my temporary studio. It was a tough day painting outside in the bone chilling damp but I was exhilarated to be here.

My big challenge for this week is to paint larger than I have in the past. I had a roll of canvas shipped that I figured I would tape to the wall. Luckily, one of my fellow painters had a stretched canvas that I wrapped my canvas around, making it easier to work on. When I’m done, I’ll untape it, roll it up and ship it home.

I started with acrylic ink in reds, purple and yellow. I put these inks on and started spraying so I had lots of drips.  When I was happy with this and the ink dried, I continued, turning the painting 90° and adding more color. Smearing and spraying, the canvas was a kind of grid of color. This is what it looked like at the end of the day, still very much a work in progress. 

 
I shared the space with several other artists. Here’s a peek at what they were working on today. 

     Check back tomorrow to see how I’m progressing.

 

About karenfriedland

I am a visual artist-- painter, sculptor, photographer-- coloring the world. My travels take me to many places around the world and I love connecting with others at home and on my trips. I am also a teacher (art), business person and creativity and business coach. My website is: www.ArtistKaren.com. I am so glad you have visited my blog!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to BIG CANVAS

  1. Cathy Hegman says:

    Good to have you here with us!!!!
    Thank goodness the weather is much improved today!!
    Cat

Leave a Reply

