ART COLONY

I spent all day yesterday trying to get organized for my trip down to Utica, Mississippi,just outside the state capital,  Jackson, for my week at Mississippi Art Colony. Airline restrictions and charges meant I had to get all my tools and equipment- paint, brushes, knives, masks, drawing materials, etc. – into one suitcase. 

 It’s an exciting prospect to spend the week painting, with other painters, not having to worry about the demands of daily life but getting there can be harrowing.

The trip takes the better part of the day, flying first into Atlanta”s giant Hartsfield  Airport, 

then changing to a slightly smaller plane on to Jackson. I was picked up by another artist, also an out of towner,  but one with Mississippi roots. 

I know that I am the only artist; here from the North. This gives me a certain unearned noteriety and I guess my home makes them conjure up assutions about me, just as I have about the South. Hearing the lilting female tones make announcements takes me immediately to the stereotype of vapid voices, sultry and seductive. This is a solid group of artists and the environment will be stimulating.

After our hard winter, it was a welcome sight to see the orchards of pecan trees and honeysuckle profusely growing at the side of the road. 

   

Checked in and so it begins. I will share with you my process and insights as the week progresses.

About karenfriedland

I am a visual artist-- painter, sculptor, photographer-- coloring the world. My travels take me to many places around the world and I love connecting with others at home and on my trips. I am also a teacher (art), business person and creativity and business coach. My website is: www.ArtistKaren.com. I am so glad you have visited my blog!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

