Children of Malawi

My husband, Gary, and I met up with the rest off our group, a delegation from Books For Africa, a US NGO that sends over 3 million books to Africa each year. We went to visit schools and libraries, to talk to the people and find out what they need.

We traveled to Malawi to see it first hand. The people in Malawi are desperately poor. They are all struggling. But the National Library of Malawi has a terrific distribution system and has been getting the books all over the country to folks who need them.

This student-or learner, as they are called- is Esther. She wants to be a nurse.

This student-or learner, as they are called- is Esther. She wants to be a nurse.

image image image

The people are warm and friendly in Malawi and the children enthusiastic and lovely. Here are some pictures of children we met.

About karenfriedland

I am a visual artist-- painter, sculptor, photographer-- coloring the world. My travels take me to many places around the world and I love connecting with others at home and on my trips. I am also a teacher (art), business person and creativity and business coach. My website is: www.ArtistKaren.com. I am so glad you have visited my blog!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Children of Malawi

  1. Joyce Ntchafu says:

    Hello Karen,
    How are you and Gary? Am happy you posted some of the Malawian pictures. Hope you had a nice trip back home. I enjoyed touring schools libraries with you people, I have seen most of the work on your website, oooh! nice paintings, looks attractive. you are really an artistic and i want to have those skills as well.
    Greetings from Malawi.

    Joyce Ntchafu
    Malawi National Library Service.

    • Hi Joyce-
      I hope this finds you well. I have traveled quite a bit since I last saw you but I am now back home for a while and getting back to work. My daughter, Shayna Kalish, is working with me to create “Art For Africa” as a part of BFA. We hope to have things organized and start collecting materials in the next month. We will start small with a few schools in Malawi as you and I discussed. I would like to talk to you about it more but I don’t have your email address. Please write to me at: karenart99@yahoo.com. I will look forward to hearing from you. I’m excited to get it underway!
      Best,
      Karen

  2. Pat Plonski says:

    Thanks so much Karen for your support of education in Malawi! These are great pictures and a nice shout-out!

Leave a Reply

