Inspiration Strikes

For the last month I have been immersed in opening my studio and home to all of you who could make it to Brooklyn to see my work.  I was thrilled to meet you and share the art with you. Thank you for coming.

I’ve been enthusiastically using Instagram for a while and decided to make the Holiday Salon an Instagram event by painting an Instagram frame for us to take pictures in.

Sarah Lilly and I climb into the frame.

Sarah Lilly and I climb into the frame.

Brenda Becker brought her beautiful handmade books to share.

Brenda Becker brought her beautiful handmade books to share.

Caryn Kreitzer & I were trying to make it an all "Karen/Caryn" showcase.

Caryn Kreitzer & I were trying to make it an all “Karen/Caryn” showcase.

Please FOLLOW ME on Instagram @ArtistKarenFriedland

Coming out of all that entertaining, it has been a challenge to

Glossy, iridescent surface lets ink spread when it's sprayed with water.

Glossy, iridescent surface lets ink spread when it’s sprayed with water.

get back into the studio.  I had a bunch of new canvases and no idea what I was going to do with them.  Sometimes it’s really hard to get started.  I decided to try something completely new.  I decided to coat the canvas with a mixture of gloss medium and iridescent medium and broke out some new inks I had been waiting to try.

IMG_1011I kept going with the ink and spraying which produced organic shapes that made me think of bugs. I had lots of creepy crawlers going!

I now changed color palette

You can really see the light of the iridescence here.

You can really see the light of the iridescence here.

and brought in fuchsia which changed the feel of the whole piece.

From here, I added acrylic paint, most of it fluid, transparent paint.  Progressing to refine the composition saw the application of thicker, more opaque paint.IMG_1044IMG_1054

Using more opaque paint and adding diluted white, let me refine the design so it is still very active but not overwhelming.  I decided it was done.

"Scarab" 28"w, x 22"h,  acrylic on gallery wrapped canvas.

“Scarab” 28″w, x 22″h, acrylic on gallery wrapped canvas.

I want to wish all of you a very happy holiday!  May you have a new year filled with joy, health and creativity!

Lots of love to you all and I’ll see you in the new year!

Karen

 

About karenfriedland

I am a visual artist-- painter, sculptor, photographer-- coloring the world. My travels take me to many places around the world and I love connecting with others at home and on my trips. I am also a teacher (art), business person and creativity and business coach. My website is: www.ArtistKaren.com. I am so glad you have visited my blog!
This entry was posted in Achievemnt, Art Process, COLOR and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

