GETTING REAL

Happy Election Day! Let’s hope our leaders take us into prosperous and peaceful times.

As I get ready for the Open Studio this weekend— Saturday and Sunday, 12n.-5PM, 190 Marlborough Road, Brooklyn —I am inviting you into my home to see my REAL art.  Not interpreted by photography or published on paper as a print but rather the original, unadulterated thing! You’ll see the textures, brush strokes, underlayers and true colors.

Reality in the digital age seems to be a far cry from what is real.  It used to be we could tell the difference between truth and fiction. Historic novelists would point out in their preface that only historic figures are not fiction and what they say is made up. When we watched a television show, images-2they would tell us-“this is a true story but the names have been changed to protect the innocent.” In this day and age, no one is protected and there are no innocents.  Everyone and everything is in your face. Watching reality TV doesn’t represent reality in any way.

Technology has also had a dramatic impact on visual arts. Many artists were early adopters of computers and the use of computers in art has become endemic. It has spawned its own art form, digital art, where the image is throughly manipulated with the computer. Others use it to enhance what they have actually made themselves. How artists use computers runs the gamut.

So each person’s reality varies. In my case, I occasionally use the computer to find images to draw or collage.  Beyond that, there is no computer manipulation of my art, except for color correcting photography of my work to make it more true to the original. Come see what I mean at the Open Studio this weekend.  You can see what my art REALLY is.

PURPLE CLOUD 10" X 10"  Mixed media on hardboard

PURPLE CLOUD 10″ X 10″ Mixed media on hardboard

About karenfriedland

I am a visual artist-- painter, sculptor, photographer-- coloring the world. My travels take me to many places around the world and I love connecting with others at home and on my trips. I am also a teacher (art), business person and creativity and business coach. My website is: www.ArtistKaren.com. I am so glad you have visited my blog!
This entry was posted in Art Process, process, reality and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to GETTING REAL

  1. I wish I could be there!!! Wishing you the most fulfilling and prosperous weekend imaginable! Love you,
    Cathy

Leave a Reply

