ART AROUND THE WORLD

This post is part of the Art Around The World Blog Hop where we will be visiting online with artists from all over as they share their studios, art and inspiration. Invited to participate by my friend and cohort, Jennifer Blair-Cockrum *(who designed this cool logo)Blog-hop-logo I have to answer four questions:

  1. Why do I do what I do?
  2. How does my work differ from others in its genre?
  3. How does my creative process work?
  4. What am I working on now?

 

Why I do what I do is an interesting question that I can’t remember answering before.  Surely it’s not for the fortune or fame, which rarely come to most artists (although it wouldn’t be bad!). I have always had a hankering to be creative, making things or figuring stuff out. I floundered through lots of endeavors, including weaving and plastic craft, training as an interior designer before I became a painter. I love making things and recently ventured into mixed media and ceramic sculpture. Whatever it is, I try to bring color, energy and joy into people’s lives when they see my work.

My work differs from others in its genre with its energy. I use color, put together with form and design, as a means to generate a burst of beauty and happiness and excitement and a warmth for the soul. The effect lets your spirit soar!

How does my creative process work? I often go to sleep thinking of what I might create. While I usually don’t visualize what the art will look like, I see colors as I go to sleep.  None of this is consciously accessible to me as I begin my work the next day in the studio but I like to think that the dream time comes through in my artwork some way. When I approach the canvas, I begin with adding texturing materials, collage or a beautiful transparent stroke of paint. I build intuitively from there.

What am I working on now? I thought I would share with you my step by step process on a painting I recently finished.  Called “Buddha’s Alchemy”, I think the process on this painting is interesting because of how it started and what it became.  I have been working in non-objective abstraction (where there is no “thing” in the picture) and was really surprised when several figures started to emerge. Here is how the painting progressed.

I started with collaged canvas and newspaper & filled the canvas with color.

I started with collaged canvas and newspaper & filled the canvas with color.

Adding more color & putting in more form.

Adding more color & putting in more form

Adding more color and definition.

Adding more color and definition.

The Buddha forms appear, one behind the other. Other shapes in the picture allude to Buddha as well.

The Buddha forms appear, one behind the other. Other shapes in the picture allude to Buddha as well.

More definition as the main figure sits down & flames appear below.

More definition as the main figure sits down & flames appear below.

 

"Buddha's Alchemy" 24"x24" mixed media In the final version, the 2nd figure becomes a shadow/dream as colors are enriched.

“Buddha’s Alchemy” 24″x24″ mixed media
In the final version, the 2nd figure becomes a shadow/dream as colors are enriched.

Coming Soon:  Save the Date for my OPEN STUDIO, Saturday and Sunday, November 8th & 9th, 12 noon-5PM.  See this piece and lots of other new work in person!

I’d love to hear how your creative process works! Let me know what you’re thinking in the comments below.

Here are some other ways to stay in touch!

  • Subscribe to this blog by clicking “SIGN ME UP” in the upper right corner of this page.
  • Sign up here for my mailing list (below) and get all the insider’s news on what’s happening
  • Like me on Facebook  https://www.facebook.com/ArtistKarenF
  • Follow me on Instagram http://instagram.com/artistkaren
  • Follow me on Pinterest http://www.pinterest.com/karenfriedland/
  • Follow me on Twitter https://twitter.com/ArtistKaren

*Jennifer Blair-Cockrum, my friend who led me into this, has always been interested in the art of science and the science of art. The Colorado artist considers herself an organic abstractionist where method and process are integral into each unique creation.  Jennifer allows each medium she paints in; pastel, watercolor, acrylic, or ceramics to retain its own voice or style within the piece.

Next up in the blog hop is another friend and cohort, Lezette Markham.  She is a Creative Mentor, Artist & the Founder of SimplyArtOC.com. She inspires all walks of life to harness their brave, creative power and rock their passion projects! You can have your own ridiculously creative, deeply satisfying and abundantly inspiring life in the world of Simply Art. Look for her post next Monday on her blog.

While you’re waiting, check out the amazing artists below:

Art Around the World Blog Hoppers

About karenfriedland

I am a visual artist-- painter, sculptor, photographer-- coloring the world. My travels take me to many places around the world and I love connecting with others at home and on my trips. I am also a teacher (art), business person and creativity and business coach. My website is: www.ArtistKaren.com. I am so glad you have visited my blog!
This entry was posted in Achievemnt, Art Process, blog hop, collage, COLOR, Painting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

