The Daily Practice

I don’t know about you but since I work at home, without anyone’s supervision (except the rest of my family, of course, but that’s another story!), I need to find ways to structure my time and add discipline to my work.  So I decided to create a daily practice.  I’ve decided that each day I will do some kind of drawing.

I went to the New York City Ballet over the weekend, in the NYS Theater

Lincoln Center plaza, looking toward Avery Fisher Philharmonic Hall

Lincoln Center plaza, looking toward Avery Fisher Philharmonic Hall

of Lincoln Center where I saw an all Balanchine program.  The ballet is always beautiful, the dancers, lighting, costumes, orchestra, the setting.  But this program was magnificent.

It is great fun for me to take a sketchbook to theater or the ballet, and if there is enough light, to draw during the performance.  Sometimes I am thwarted because it is too dark but we have third row center seats to the ballet, so there is enough ambient light. The sketches are very fast and drawn over, not quite right but I thought I’d share them with you.

Do you like the ballet? Do you ever draw in the dark? I’d love to hear your comments below.

Donezetti Variations was a compendium of performances with the dancers dressed in old country style from northern Europe.

Donezetti Variations was a compendium of performances with the dancers dressed in old country style from northern Europe.

The Prima Ballerina, Wendy Whelan danced as an ethereal dream in La Sommunbula.

The Prima Ballerina, Wendy Whelan danced as an ethereal dream in La Sommunbula.

My all time favorite artist, Marc Chagall, painted the screen and created the sets and costumes for Firebird. A piece of such brilliance, on all levels, it fills me and stays with me for days after.

My all time favorite artist, Marc Chagall, painted the screen and created the sets and costumes for Firebird. A piece of such brilliance, on all levels, it fills me and stays with me for days after.

About karenfriedland

I am a visual artist-- painter, sculptor, photographer-- coloring the world. My travels take me to many places around the world and I love connecting with others at home and on my trips. I am also a teacher (art), business person and creativity and business coach. My website is: www.ArtistKaren.com. I am so glad you have visited my blog!
This entry was posted in Daily Practice, Drawing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

