GOING WILD IN THE BLANK CANVAS BLOG HOP

Have you ever felt something that just urges you on, an inkling from deep within that you can shake? A couple of years ago, my inner voice kept pushing me, “I want to paint big-much bigger, to be loose and bold!”

TURBULENT TIMES 26" x 34" acrylic on board

TURBULENT TIMES
26″ x 34″
acrylic on board

BY THE CANAL  acrylic on panel 26" x 34"

BY THE CANAL
acrylic on panel 26″ x 34″ inspiration for Turbulent Times

There was an image that I had painted years before, of Amsterdam with its houses and  canals. I felt this image tugging at me but it wanted to be bigger and wilder-the vision made me wild.

I started drawing it-small at first then larger and larger until it was on two 30″ x 40″ canvases, making a diptych (a two-piece painting) that was 40″ high x 60″ wide.

Drawing for the painting, Turbulent Times, on two canvases

Drawing for the painting, Turbulent Times, on two canvases

The houses tilted and rolled until they took on their own distinct personalities.

Turbulent Times laying in house colors and windows

Turbulent Times
laying in house colors and windows

Keeping that in the forefront when I began painting, each house was painted directly and decisively.  I felt a quandry with the windows, they were the eyes to what was seen inside and out.

I chose to use thin watery layers of paint which had a more organic, soulful touch.

Turbulent Times in process, houses & windows

Turbulent Times
in process, houses & windows

The sky was giving me particular trouble. I loved the idea of green clouds and looking for a strong contrast, I put in pink.

Turbulent Times with a pink sky, green clouds

Turbulent Times
with a pink sky, green clouds

Did not work for me at all! So I covered the sky with copper which had a similar value to the pink but the metallic gave it more edge.

TURBULENT TIMES sky of copper

TURBULENT TIMES
sky of copper

But a copper sky didn’t work it for me either. So I covered it with the blue, leaving some of the copper shining through. This let me complete this fantasy place with verve! (Final version at top.)

So glad you have come by for this Friday Frenzy entry on The Blank Canvas Blog Hop. All our members are revealing such interesting entries, I hope you continue to follow along to read everyone’s story.  Don’t forget to leave a comment or the other actions to get additional entries for the great giveawayYOUR CHOICE OF ANY  16″ PRINT FROM MY ONLINE SHOP–A $100 VALUE!

Enter to WIN this fabulous giveaway! You can win any print you choose from my online shop!

Enter to WIN this fabulous giveaway! You can win any print you choose from my online shop!

You enter by leaving a comment below telling me what you think about my or other’s creative process.  

Other stuff to do to get more entries? Each action will give you another entry into the drawing.

  • Subscribe to this blog by clicking “SIGN ME UP” in the upper right corner of this page.
  • Sign up here for my mailing list (below) and get all the insider’s news on what’s happening
  • Like me on Facebook  https://www.facebook.com/ArtistKarenF
  • Follow me on Instagram http://instagram.com/artistkaren
  • Follow me on Pinterest http://www.pinterest.com/karenfriedland/

Then each day visit these other artists’ blogs to learn about their process and win other giveaways!

Giveaway rules: Giveaway is open to US residents only. Entrants must be 18 years of age and up. No purchase necessary. Void where prohibited. Comment entries close 11:59pm, on September 23, 2014. Winner will be chosen by random drawing on September 24, and will be officially notified via email and must acknowledge the notification email by October 4th, 2014, or the prize is forfeit and will be given to the runner up. Artwork will be shipped within a month of getting the winner’s selection shipping address. Giveaway Value-apx $100.
 
  1. Sept 8….Karen FriedlandTHAT’S ME
  2. Sept 9….Lezette Markham
  3. Sept 10…Cynthia Patton
  4. Sept 11Jennyann Carthern 
  5. Sept 12FRIDAY FRENZY ← today’s spotlight —– Kiala Givehand, Tori Deaux, Karen Friedland←THAT’S ME TOO
  6. Sept 13Jan Blount
  7. Sept 14Effy Wild
  8. Sept 15Virginia Simpson-Magruder
  9. Sept 16…Dariana Cruz
  10. Sept 17Susan Miller
  11. Sept 18Grace Howes
  12. Sept 19Tori Deaux
  13. Sept 20Kiala Givehand
  14. Sept 21Martin Arkenstone
  15. Sept 22Nicole Piar←today’s spotlight

Thanx so much for coming along on our blog hop and for your participation here!

signature

About karenfriedland

I am a visual artist-- painter, sculptor, photographer-- coloring the world. My travels take me to many places around the world and I love connecting with others at home and on my trips. I am also a teacher (art), business person and creativity and business coach. My website is: www.ArtistKaren.com. I am so glad you have visited my blog!
This entry was posted in Achievemnt, COLOR, landscape, Painting, process, The Blank Canvas. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to GOING WILD IN THE BLANK CANVAS BLOG HOP

  1. Pingback: Welcome to The Blank Canvas Blog Hop! | A WordPress Site

  2. pagangaia says:

    I just love those wonky houses! The colours are beautiful. I have tried but Instagram just won’t let me join as I have no smartphone where I can download the app. Sorry about that.

  3. Pingback: stepping beyond the blank canvasRedBarn Studios

  4. Pingback: the creative process unveiled - RedBarn StudiosRedBarn Studios

  5. Love your process!! Great blog! I love the rolling shapes of the houses, the movement was superb!

  6. Pingback: Surface Pattern designers Design Process : Dari Design Studio

  7. Pingback: Blank Canvas Blog Hop | Effy Wild

  8. Raine says:

    I love those quirky houses!

  9. stor22250 says:

    I love the bright colors you used and the way the buildings roll together. It makes it more appealing and it invites you in to the shops.

  10. Pingback: THE ARTIST’S PROCESS – THE BLANK CANVAS BLOG HOP | Coloring the World

  11. jan blount says:

    Love seeing how this evolved from small version to a grand diptych. And your houses definitely do have personality. A whole lot of personality in the the later version. Love it.

  12. Pingback: Blank Canvas CAPE-ers | Gratitude & Company

  13. nicole piar says:

    Loved to see how the vision evolved. thanks for sharing!

  14. Pingback: The Blank Canvas Blog Hop, Day 5 | CYNTHIA J. PATTON

  15. Pingback: blank canvas friday frenzy | day 5 - RedBarn StudiosRedBarn Studios

  16. Pingback: Announcing the Blank Canvas Hop | Gratitude & Company

Leave a Reply

