Five Tips For Better Vacation Photos

Summertime is when so many of us take to the road-or plane or ship- and travel away from home.  I’m no different from the rest, traveling locally back and forth from Brooklyn to the Poconos this summer.  While I am not visiting exotic destinations right now, many of you know my last year has been filled with exotic places.

On every trip I have taken a camera (other than my phone) to record the beauty and fun experiences I had.  But, at times, I came home and looked at my pictures and was disappointed that they didn’t look nearly as exciting as they did when I was there. Although I am not a professional photographer, I have learned some tricks for getting better trip photos.

  • When you are photographing something in the distance, whether inside or out, don’t use your flash.  A flash only illuminates 8-11 feet.  Therefore, it does nothing to get those domed ceilings and the like.  Instead, turn off your flash and set your digital camera’s white balance to automatic AWB. This will adjust your shutter speed to the available light
  • .Interior Budapest Synagogue with flash

Interior Budapest Synagogue with flash

 

Budapest Synagogue interior with no flash

Budapest Synagogue interior with no flash

  • Add interest to your pictures by shooting through a framing element, such as a window or gate or through arches as in this photo in Budapest.
View of Buda side from the Pest side through stone arches.

View of Buda side from the Pest side through stone arches.

 

 

 

 

 

 

  • Change your perspective. If there is something special that you have noticed on the ground or in nature or a cool detail, get in real close. When you have zoomed in on that scene, make sure that you place the focus on the part of the image that you really want to see. As seen in this picture, I wanted to see my little green friend and depth of field made the flora in the picture kind of fuzzy, an effect I really like.

    Nature in San Miguel de Allende, Mexico

    Nature in San Miguel de Allende, Mexico

 

 

 

  • When shooting a landscape (or seascape), play with your zoom.  While keeping your distance will give you more information, zooming in will give you a more dramatic photo.

    Close up of rocks in fishing village in South Africa

    Close up of rocks in fishing village in South Africa

 

 

The broader vista of the same rocks on the west coast of SA

The broader vista of the same rocks on the west coast of SA

 

 

 

 

Church San Miguel de Allende

Church San Miguel de Allende

  • Shooting a vista can be disappointing but if you include some close elements in the shot, you may dramatically improve it.

    Fountain in foreground adds more interest and more information

    Fountain in foreground adds more interest and more information

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I hope these tips help your pictures come closer the beautiful memories that you made.  I’d love to hear about and see your favorite travel photos in your comments below!

 

 

About karenfriedland

I am a visual artist-- painter, sculptor, photographer-- coloring the world. My travels take me to many places around the world and I love connecting with others at home and on my trips. I am also a teacher (art), business person and creativity and business coach. My website is: www.ArtistKaren.com. I am so glad you have visited my blog!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Five Tips For Better Vacation Photos

  1. Artuitive says:

    Loved these! Especially loved that you took time to show examples of what you were talking about. Pictures pictures pictures! You’re a wonderful teacher, Karen. Love you, Susie

    Sent from my iPhone

    On Jul 27, 2014, at 12:54 PM, Coloring the World wrote:

    WordPress.com karenfriedland posted: “Summertime is when so many of us take to the road-or plane or ship- and travel away from home. I’m no different from the rest, traveling locally back and forth from Brooklyn to the Poconos this summer. While I am not visiting exotic destinations right n”

  2. tommie stewart says:

    Karen! When I spent time around you at Colony, I knew you were special….thanks for these tips. Keep up your happy, fun exploring and keep that smile….tommie

Leave a Reply

