DON’T MAKE NEW YEARS RESOLUTIONS!

At the beginning of the new year, we tend to reflect on what has been accomplished in the past year and even more clearly, we see where we messed up or let ourselves down.  This invariably leads to that annual exercise of making New Year’s resolutions. But how often have you kept that resolution?  If you are like me, it is just about never. So this year I urge you-don’t make any New Year’s resolutions!
 
In their stead, set yourself goals. While they may sound similar, they work very differently. When you make a resolution, it’s a statement laden with should space-space I quote I should exercise more” “I should lose weight” “I should study harder” “I should make more money. “. These are fine aspirations but you have no means to achieve them-they are pie-in-the-sky!Image
 
When you set a goal, it has very specific parameters. First of all, pick a goal that is achievable. Being as one slender as a supermodel may be just a dream but losing  ___ pounds is a goal.  When picking a goal, make sure you can quantify it. “I’ll work out an hour three times a week.” “I will make $10,000.”  These are goals that have been quantified.
 
Next, set a time frame. Now you can measure what you want to do and by when you want to do with it. It might even be useful to set benchmarks that you want to have achieved by certain interim dateS.  Figure out how you will achieve the goal. Will you join the gym? Have a sale? By a Kindle?
 
0K-you have figured out what you want to do, how you are going to do it and when you are going to do it by. How do you stay on track?  WRITE IT DOWN!  And post it someplace you will see it frequently. Put the dates in your calendar. Seeing it often will keep you on point.
 
Lastly, when you reach your final goal date, take time to appreciate your hard work and all you have achieved. Whether you reached your goal or not, I bet you have accomplished a lot. Congratulate yourself on your accomplishments!Image
About karenfriedland

I am a visual artist-- painter, sculptor, photographer-- coloring the world. My travels take me to many places around the world and I love connecting with others at home and on my trips. I am also a teacher (art), business person and creativity and business coach. My website is: www.ArtistKaren.com. I am so glad you have visited my blog!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

