HOW WELL HUNG THE WALL!

When I work in the studio on a piece, I get up close and personal with the work.  I look at it so carefully that I learn all parts of it by heart.  I observe it closely so that I’m able to shut out all the extraneous chaos in my studio.

Square paintings fill the long wall in the Backdoor Gallery's expansive gallery space.

Square paintings fill the long wall in the Backdoor Gallery’s expansive gallery space.

But when the work is hung, especially when it is hung in a gallery setting, it takes on a whole new life.  The work has room to breathe, space to be showcased so that it can be seen without distraction.

diptych, acrylic, stylized cityscape, bright colors, movement

Turbulent Times, 60″ x 40″ diptych in canvas

At the same time, the pieces of artwork interact with each other.  Shape, form and color play against the other art elements nearby, influencing how each is perceived.  It also allows one see the cohesiveness of the body of work and at times, the progression of an artistic series.  The same thing happens when a work of art is hung in a home setting.  It interacts with the other colors, shapes and light in the room-one’s furniture, draperies, rugs and wall color.  That is how art impacts the whole space where it resides.

 Backdoor Gallery, abstract, colorful, active, wall hung

“Smooth Sailing” on the wall at Backdoor Gallery, peeking into the next room.

Seeing my work in the spacious gallery of the Backdoor Gallery gives me a whole new perspective.  The consistency of color use holds the show together.  Each painting has it’s own distinctive character depending on my approach and the design.

"Sunset" , Backdoor Gallery, acrylic, painting, abstract, colorful

“Sunset” hung at Backdoor Gallery

abstract, painting, detail, red, yellow, Sunset

Detail of painting “Sunset” at Backdoor Gallery

I particularly enjoy seeing the 15 eight inch square canvases hung together on one wall.  Most of these pieces are part of my “Alphabet Series.”  The abstract patterns serve as a backdrop to a letter stamped on and many words, starting with that letter, written all over the piece.

8" square paintings, alphabet series, collage, stamping

The approach to each was experimental but similar.

The discrete essence of every collage painting is clear, but hung together they become a cohesive unit, clearly connected in their spirit and execution.

8" square collage/acrylic paintings, the alphabet series

Experimentation makes each painting unique as they hang together.

How has art impacted the nature of your space when hung in your room?

About karenfriedland

I am a visual artist-- painter, sculptor, photographer-- coloring the world. My travels take me to many places around the world and I love connecting with others at home and on my trips. I am also a teacher (art), business person and creativity and business coach. My website is: www.ArtistKaren.com. I am so glad you have visited my blog!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to HOW WELL HUNG THE WALL!

  1. Karen!!!! These are phenomenal!!! I love each and every one! I like you enjoy the interwoven connection of the small pieces when hung together!!! Bravo!! I hope the show went well and I am very certain it did!! Your color sensitivity is wonderful and the entire collection is a winner! Good job!!!
    Cathy

Leave a Reply

