ART IN VIENNA

Henri Lebasque Auf der grünen Bank, Sanary, 1911

Henri Lebasque Auf der grünen Bank, Sanary, 1911

The Albertina Museum is the premier art museum in Vienna with a stellar art collection, much of it from the Period of Modernism, featured in their current exhibition, “Monet to Picasso.”  Our visit there was a highlight of my visit to Vienna, although my daughter spent a good portion of her time there sitting on a bench waiting for me.  Photography (without flash) was not restricted there, so I thought I would share some of my favorites with you.  I particularly enjoyed that many of these were by artists who were new to me, along with some of my faves.

Alexej von Jawlensky Kornfeld bei Carantec, um 1905 Öl auf Karton

Alexej von Jawlensky
Kornfeld bei Carantec, um 1905
oil on cardboardAugust Macke Yachting on Lake Tegern, c. 1910

August Macke
Yachting on Lake Tegern, c. 1910

Frantisek Kupka Green and Blue 1921-1923

Frantisek Kupka
Green and Blue
1921-1923

Joan Miró Birds and Insects, 1938

Joan Miró Birds and Insects, 1938

Joan Miro "Woman in Front of the Sun" 1949

Joan Miro
“Woman in Front of the Sun”
1949

Alexej von Jawlensky Young Girl in a Flowered Hat, 1910 Oil on cardboard

Alexej von Jawlensky
Young Girl in a Flowered Hat, 1910
Oil on cardboard

Alexej von Jawlensky Abstrakter Kopf, um 1928 - 29 Öl auf Papier und Karton

Alexej von Jawlensky
Abstrakter Kopf, um 1928 – 29
Öl auf Papier und Karton

Emil Nolde Moonlit Night, 1914

Emil Nolde
Moonlit Night, 1914

Marc Chagall "The Great Circus" 1970

Marc Chagall
“The Great Circus”
1970

Included in the collection were several pieces by one of my favorite all time artists, Marc Chagall. “The Great Circus” I feature here.

In addition to this feast of modern art was an exhibit of drawings by Rembrandt and his contemporaries. Wonderful to see the hand of the master close up, it was amazing to note the uncanny resemblance between one of his drawings and Samara.

Samara by Rembrandt?

Samara by Rembrandt?

I was taken with the reflection of tradition in the glass of modernism and captured it here.

Yesterday in today.

Yesterday in today.

Vienna is a wealth of beauty and art.

About karenfriedland

I am a visual artist-- painter, sculptor, photographer-- coloring the world. My travels take me to many places around the world and I love connecting with others at home and on my trips. I am also a teacher (art), business person and creativity and business coach. My website is: www.ArtistKaren.com. I am so glad you have visited my blog!
This entry was posted in Art Masters, Painting, travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

