HOLIDAY HAPPENINGS

This month has been quite busy. I had the opportunity to share my work with others at two studio shows, as well as two weekends of the Flatbush Artists’ Park Slope Salon.

For these events I created a number of gift items including jewelry, notecards, magnets and mini-journals. Image These were art pieces in themselves as I created various hand painted paste papers to use for covers to the accordion-fold blank books.  Work of the heart, I loved both the art and craft of them.  ImageMy buyers were not so taken with them but some friends were when I gifted them.  There was joy in the making.  This is the way I feel about about my work overall, that it brings me joy and satisfaction.  Not that it is without hard work and challenges; in fact, the challenges and what I invent to meet them, is what keeps me inspired.

I hope you all had a wonderful holiday, as I did.  Mine was filled with visits from my sister and then my kids, with whom the time always goes too fast.  We spent time with dear friends, who are really extended family.  It has been a time filled with love.  I am blessed.

IMG_0200

With all these other activities, I have spent little time in the studio.  As the year grows to a close, there are things I want to accomplish before embarking on a new year.

1)  I will straighten up the studio.  That way, I can set off on new art-ventures (my new word for “art adventures”)  in an organized way.

2)  I will finish any loose ends that have been hanging.  To start the new year with those old, unfinished projects hanging over me would be disheartening,  Things that keep recurring on my “to do” list will either be completed or stricken off completely.  If they haven’t gotten done yet, perhaps they needn’t be there at all.

3)  I will thank those who make my work possible: my clients, suppliers, students, Brooklyn Arts Council, cooperating teachers and those who believe in me, especially my husband, Gary Zelko.

Then I will be complete.  I will celebrate the arrival of the new year with dear friends and watch the fireworks over Prospect Park at midnight.Image

After that, I will make plans for the art-ventures in both the business of creating and business creativity.

So, thank you reader friends, for hearing my voice and sending your thoughts and love. Wishing you a new year of health and beauty, adventure and pleasure, happy challenges that take you to your best self and love and peace.

See you next year!

About karenfriedland

I am a visual artist-- painter, sculptor, photographer-- coloring the world. My travels take me to many places around the world and I love connecting with others at home and on my trips. I am also a teacher (art), business person and creativity and business coach. My website is: www.ArtistKaren.com. I am so glad you have visited my blog!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to HOLIDAY HAPPENINGS

  1. Sounds like the NewYear will be wonderful…so happy to read of your love filled holidays! Happy New Year to you and you family! The buyers should have been taken with the works you made…I loved them! They don’t call us starving; for no reason I suppose! Hoping 2013 is a happy and prosperous new year for everyone!

    Cathy

Leave a Reply

