Ole Miss

Greetings from Mississippi! Here I am at Henry Jacobs Camp, near Jackson, Mississippi, attending the 64th Mississippi Art Colony.  Despite ideas to the contrary, Art Colony does not foment revolution nor does it take any prisoners.  However, this week I have become prisoner to the charms, humor and dichotomies of Southerners and getting together a large group of artists is always a bit subversive.  Working independently in a variety of media, we are 42 individuals making art, sharing ideas, focusing on the creative.

We are guided this week by highly accomplished Providence (RI) artist, Bunny Harvey.  A Prix de Rome winner, Harvey has an illustrious exhibition career as well as professor of art at Wellsley College.  Look for an upcoming interview.

There is a custom here at Art Colony that the artists make ATCOs (artist trading cards) and exchange them as a fund raiser for scholarships. This was my first time making them and it was certainly fun.  Each one is a small gem, a self encapsulated work of art.  It turned out that I only needed five but ended up making 15. (You see them photographed here in groupings.) Hope to find other artists to trade with.

Continuing to work abstractly while here.  I started one piece about the earth and pollution to submit to a show called “Going Green II”.  I worked on it first day.

Decided to get some distance from it and on the second day started this large (apx. 60″ square) non-objective painting.  Here it is in an early stage.

It’s another gorgeous, warm day here in Mississippi and I need to scurry off now to see what these pictures become.

About karenfriedland

I am a visual artist-- painter, sculptor, photographer-- coloring the world. My travels take me to many places around the world and I love connecting with others at home and on my trips. I am also a teacher (art), business person and creativity and business coach. My website is: www.ArtistKaren.com. I am so glad you have visited my blog!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ole Miss

  1. Wow it is fun to see the beginnings again, especially the large one….I had forgotten how much white space there was in the beginning….hmmm. I really want to see the last one (the one with all the warm transparents or the third piece) come to fruition, I think it is going to be the masterpiece of the three. Keep posting!

Leave a Reply

