LEARNING EVERY DAY

Growing up, my father always said, “learn something new every day.”  He was obviously ahead of his time because, now, in arts education, the buzz phrase is turning students into   “life long learners.”  It’s an admonition I obviously took to heart as I have at various times pursued post college study in business (MBA), interior design  and travel/tourism (certificates) and now, two years of undergraduate study in art and art history.  I have learned many things in these classes but I’ve learned also learned a great deal from the people around me — friends, family, colleagues, fellow artists.

Working beside superb artists in a workshop enriched my experience immeasurably.  Not only have I gained wonderful friends but I also acquired knowledge of working habits and techniques of fine artists.  Among these artists is Kathleen Conover, a watermedia artist from the UP in Michigan.  She is vastly creative and innovative in her work, producing beautifully evocative paintings.  Recently, she created a video which not only showcases her prize winning artwork, including her Silver Medal from the American Watercolor Society in addition to demonstrating her working process creating an underpainting texture.  

The generosity of artists sharing their knowledge and techniques is a source of pride and wonderment to me.  You can go on the video sharing websites and have artists impart things they have acquired through years of study and practice.  See what you can learn on the internet.  It may be something that will enrich your life.  What have you learned on the worldwide web?

Talking about relationships, in a recent visit to my daughter in Lincoln, Nebraska, I was reminded of the location of a painting of which I’d lost track.  It is at her house!  The painting, “On The Path” also employed a texture technique.  In this painting I adhered glass balls to the canvas surface before painting.  I like the rustic feel it provides.

"On The Path"

"On The Path" acrylic 14 x 11

About karenfriedland

I am a visual artist-- painter, sculptor, photographer-- coloring the world. My travels take me to many places around the world and I love connecting with others at home and on my trips. I am also a teacher (art), business person and creativity and business coach. My website is: www.ArtistKaren.com. I am so glad you have visited my blog!
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Learning, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to LEARNING EVERY DAY

  1. I’m honored to be in your blog. thank you so much for all the kind words and, most of all, I’m happy to have you gain something from my “secrets” shared. Heal that ankle and get back to painting, wonderful artist. Kathleen

  2. susanne says:

    Karen, you write as beautifully as you paint. I guess you got all the creative genes in the family. Luv, S.

  3. Great blog as usual! Kathleen’s vids are wonderful!

Leave a Reply

