2012 RESOLUTION– MAKE NO NEW YEAR’S RESOLUTIONS!

For years I made resolutions for the new year.  It would be “lose 20 pounds” or “make more (better/bigger/complex/salable–take your pick) art” or ”volunteer/give more charity/make peace.”  All lofty aspirations.  All equally unattainable.

This was not because I was unable to do them.  Rather, it was because I gave myself not actionable path to take to reach them.  Just putting the intention out there was not enough; I wanted to achieve these things in the past. But I hadn’t.

Resolutions are like wishes for yourself.  They are the better person you’d like to be.  However, they are intrinsically defeatist in nature.  When you make a resolution, you leave out a big part of what you need to make them work.  We neglect figuring out a way to get there.  Without that, your resolutions are merely pipe dreams, going up in smoke, with no substance to tie them to earth.

Instead of making resolutions this year, I propose you do two things.  First, give yourself a gift–make a list of all your ACCOMPLISHMENTS of the past year.  Reflection lets you see not only where you have been but also to appreciate your own abilities and power.

After reviewing where you have been, from this position of power, you are able to assess where you are.  That lets you determine where you want to go next, to progress to the next step.

Do this without critique.  Self criticism is counter productive; it just wastes your time.  You need to go forward from the place you are now in.

Now, set a GOAL.  A goal is different from a resolution in that it relates to where you are now.  It is attainable because it is part of your progression.  Give yourself the way to achieve the goal.  Write down your goal and the tasks that need to be done in order to achieve it.  Decide on a time frame.  How long will it take to accomplish each part of the goal?

The final part is when you achieve your goal-CELEBRATE!  You have achieved something important–don’t let it go unnoticed!

What were some of your favorite personal achievements from this past year?

I want to wish everyone a year of health, filled with love, adventure, challenge, creativity and accomplishment!

World Within World

"World Within World" acrylic on canvas board 24"h x 18"w

About karenfriedland

I am a visual artist-- painter, sculptor, photographer-- coloring the world. My travels take me to many places around the world and I love connecting with others at home and on my trips. I am also a teacher (art), business person and creativity and business coach. My website is: www.ArtistKaren.com. I am so glad you have visited my blog!
This entry was posted in Achievemnt, Goals, Painting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 2012 RESOLUTION– MAKE NO NEW YEAR’S RESOLUTIONS!

  1. Wonderful Blog and insightful thoughts for sure! I love love love your piece the World Within World, it is the best yet!!! Keep it up and have fun doing it! Wishing you a wonderful New Year that is filled with love, art and fulfilled goals and dreams!

  2. This was wonderful–I was already starting to beat myself up with New Year/past broken resolution stories…instead I’m going to make the list for last year and take a deep breath before diving into some goals!

Leave a Reply

