Connecting The Dots

Disappointing–that’s what it was this week.  It was a rough day.  I was rejected by my first choice school for the graduate program I want to pursue.  While the school is ranked at a mid level by U. S. News, the ratio of applicants to offers made, is about 16% per cent, making it comparable with the top schools in the country.

In my head, I was already accepted and attending.  With nearly a perfect GPA and a credible portfolio, the product of more than two decades as an artist, I felt I would be able to hold my own with a group of recent graduates.  I never seriously entertained the possibility that I would not be accepted.

Whether they actually evaluated my portfolio and application or if there was some ageism involved is still unknown.  I’m trying to chase down the answers.

Meanwhile, it left me pretty down.  But a new friend of mine from PT, Danny, tried to get me to have some perspective on it and cheer up.  He sent me a link to a video made of Steve Jobs (Apple Computer founder) when he addressed Stanford’s graduating class.

Jobs told three stories, all of which greatly resonated with me.  The one most pertinent was the one about connecting the dots.  He made the point that we can never predict how the elements of our life will come together as we look to the future.  We can only connect the dots by looking back to the past to see what we have already done and how they have come together.  You have to trust in something– your gut, karma, destiny, whatever, and believe that it will all work out in the future.   It’s impossible to connect the dots looking forward, you can only do it looking back.

So I’m going to trust in karma and assume that this disappointment will propel me on another path, the one that will set me on fire to take the world!

Seeking inspiration to move me to a better place, I came across this song by Melissa Lawson, “What If It All Goes Right?”  Makes me smile when I hear it.

So I’m feeling much more positive now and looking forward to connecting the dots when it all goes right!

“Weighing The Issue”  acrylic  40″ x 30″

Part of my Teacup Series.   This large painting was executed to experience an unusual perspective.  Do you see the small creature enlivening the picture?

About karenfriedland

I am a visual artist-- painter, sculptor, photographer-- coloring the world. My travels take me to many places around the world and I love connecting with others at home and on my trips. I am also a teacher (art), business person and creativity and business coach. My website is: www.ArtistKaren.com. I am so glad you have visited my blog!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Connecting The Dots

  1. Thanx Cathy. I’ve been pretty bummed by the whole thing. The school is only 1.5 miles from my house & my other 2 possible schools (haven’t heard from them yet) are both min. 45 minutes driving, without traffic. I hope to have a meeting with the head of the dept. this week and find out what they were looking for in a portfolio that mine lacked. I see you are making wonderful art and getting some great recognition–brava! Planning to do more painting as my entertaining & teaching schedule slow down. Seeing all the cool encaustics you & others are doing, makes me tempted. Would need a workshop to learn, yes? Is the equipment expensive, cumbersome? Does it have fumes like oils? Have a fun Easter!

  2. Cathy Hegman says:

    Awww I am so sorry you did not get the school you wanted. Persevere, my friend it will pay off in the end. I am sure the right place for you is where you are! Take care! Love the painting and oddly enough I am working on a series, I am calling my ” Dark Alice paintings”…we are on the same wavelength it seems. I see the caterpillar but no hooka? hahahaha I love the happy wonderfully wacky perspective in the painting, very nice!

Leave a Reply

