An Artist Needs A Coach

Just like athletes who strive for excellence need a coach to keep them focused on the prize, so too, can a coach help an artist reach extraordinary accomplishments as they reach for their goals.

I have had the unusual opportunity to have had a coach for the last six years.  Since then, I have zeroed in on what is most important to me and what I want to achieve now and in the future.  Having a coach has kept me focused on those goals and empowered me to take on what had heretofore seemed impossible.  That was because I found the Artist Conference Network.

I was searching for something intangible but I didn’t quite know what.  Knowing that I wanted to make art my career was not enough because I felt so isolated.  There were no colleagues, no assignments, nor were there deadlines or recognition for what I’d achieved.  Without truly understanding what it was all about, I decided to take a leap of faith and joined the small group.

I spent a weekend with ACN’s founder, Beverly Cassell, in the first Artist Conference I ever attended.  There I reflected on my dreams and vision, finding words to fit what was holding me back and breaking through with a new vision for my future. It was incredible!  My brain was spinning with all the new possibilities I saw for myself.

Not only was I coached but I also learned how to be a coach to others.  I learned to coach to make distinctions in language, becoming aware of the many small ways we diminish who we are by the way we speak about ourselves and our work.  I learned to coach for breakthroughs, to be empowered to change how we approach a task can change whether one can succeed or not.  Key to the ACN process, I learned to set goals that are a challenge and make me a little nervous but are attainable and quantifiable.

Having been a coach for six years, I think I’m pretty good at it.  But I was an effective coach as soon as I finished my first conference because the structure that Beverly created works so well. Not only was I coached and learned how to coach others but it is a process I can access as needed to coach myself to a breakthrough.  That’s a magnificent gift!

The New York group of the Artist Conference Network is having its conference weekend on April 9th and 10th.  Creative people in any discipline are invited to join us.  The modest membership fee for the weekend and year’s membership is about the same as a couple of session with a creativity coach.  Not only will you be coached but you learn how to coach others as well as yourself.  Call me with your questions or to join us–718-826-1261.

What are the possibilities for your life’s work?

"Golden Girl" mixed media 9 x 6

I love making my “girly” pictures and this is part of my Small Treasures series.  “Golden Girl” is made with collage, acrylic and pen.

P.S.  If you are not close enough to join the New York group of ACN, use the contact on the website: www.artistconference.net .

About karenfriedland

I am a visual artist-- painter, sculptor, photographer-- coloring the world. My travels take me to many places around the world and I love connecting with others at home and on my trips. I am also a teacher (art), business person and creativity and business coach. My website is: www.ArtistKaren.com. I am so glad you have visited my blog!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

