Not Spring Yet

  • I was to write about Spring.  It’s one of those things  people write about when they have writer’s block.  (Can I claim that as a blogger?)
  • New growth, crocuses and other Spring flowers blossoming amongst the dry underbrush.

 

 

 

But since it has been snowing, hailing and sleeting for the last two days, it didn’t seem quite right.  Waking up to snow covered cars decided it.  No cover for writer’s block.

I’m taking a class in figure painting as a prerequisite for graduate school.  My professor, Manel Lledos, is a considerate, thoughtful and overall excellent instructor.  While he does not paint realistically in his own work, nor do I, I am learning to paint the figure realistically.  It requires perceiving and replicating numerous nuances of color.

After a number of drawings, our first project was to paint our 12 inch mannequin, showing the planes and shadows with the paint.  On the side of the canvas, is a scale of color ranges, from very light to very dark.

It’s a lot harder than it looks and my classmates and teacher said I did a good job.  Painting a real figure is a whole other thing.  I’m learning to see some more.

About karenfriedland

I am a visual artist-- painter, sculptor, photographer-- coloring the world. My travels take me to many places around the world and I love connecting with others at home and on my trips. I am also a teacher (art), business person and creativity and business coach. My website is: www.ArtistKaren.com. I am so glad you have visited my blog!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Not Spring Yet

  1. Cathy Hegman says:

    I think you can claim blog block….that sounds reasonable! Love your mannequin! Good job!

Leave a Reply

