The Art of Travel

Travel has been a great pleasure throughout my life and I have

Neighborhood's architecture reflect the native influence.

been lucky enough to have visited a lot of great places all over the world.  With my family spread across the USA, I have some great destinations in which I am a houseguest, making the time with loved ones ever more special.

I am always at a loss on how to keep my art going while I am traveling.  Often, I will take painting supplies–paper, brushes, tubes, water containers, etc.–along with me.  Most of the time these things go unused as space and schedule rarely allow for it.  Even the flight to the destination no longer provides room for artmaking, as the seats are so tight and the planes so full.Funky gas station now chic eatery.

So last week when I traveled to New Mexico to see family, I reigned in my expectations.  I brought painted papers and glue for small collages, my sketchbook for drawing and my DSLR camera.

My camera has provided the best tool, especially when we took the tramway up 10,000 feet, to the top of Sandia Mountain.  It is an austere beauty here in New Mexico, where the desert and drought render the landscape in shades of tans and greys.  It is a subtler palatte that takes time and close observation to recognize the lovely nuances.Hippy influence alive & well in Albuquerque.

I took a lot of pictures that trip.  Did a couple of drawings, some ideas for new paintings and started one collage.  Not a lot of production to bring back.  But there was something I was glad I didn’t bring back: that was the guilt I usually feel when I unpack my long-schlepped, unused art supplies!

How do you make art when you travel?  Or do you?

About karenfriedland

I am a visual artist-- painter, sculptor, photographer-- coloring the world. My travels take me to many places around the world and I love connecting with others at home and on my trips. I am also a teacher (art), business person and creativity and business coach. My website is: www.ArtistKaren.com. I am so glad you have visited my blog!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Art of Travel

  1. Camera and notebook for me (the latter for word-pictures). Although I’ve always thought it would be cool to draw while on the road, I never have. Did you do your Morocco paintings there or back here? And did you use photos as guides or recreate scenes from memory/imagination?

Leave a Reply

