New Year Resolve

As we usher out 2010, at times with a kick in the rear,  and herald in 2011, people’s thoughts turn to what they would hope the new year will hold.  They dream of being slimmer  or healthier, richer or more successful, happier or more peaceful.

Resolutions encompass the optimism of one’s life, what you might dream if you still believed in dreams.  But what happens with these resolutions after they are made?  If one is typical of most of people, the resolutions will be broken before this month is over.

I tried to figure why that is.  I know that when we make these resolutions, we mean it.  At least for a little while.  Then we do things, just small things, the way we did before.  And we know that we’ve “broken” our resolution.

But what if you didn’t make a resolution, but rather, made a goal.  What’s the difference?  A goal can’t be broken.  It just isn’t achieved yet.  A good goal is specific, something particular that you want to achieve.

So have a happy new year!  Keep your resolve to achieve your goals!

Castle Of The Sea Pastel 25"x19"

This painting is derived from a visit to the Italian seaside town called Castellegnone della Pescaia.  Above the town square, which is by the water, winds an ancient stone path that leads to the historic walled village.  Created with soft pastel, the soft, blended finish is enhanced by the velour paper, similar to velvet. Having a black base makes the colors pop!

“Art offers the possibility of love with strangers.”

More on goals next time.  What resolutions/goals have you made for 2011?

About karenfriedland

I am a visual artist-- painter, sculptor, photographer-- coloring the world. My travels take me to many places around the world and I love connecting with others at home and on my trips. I am also a teacher (art), business person and creativity and business coach. My website is: www.ArtistKaren.com. I am so glad you have visited my blog!
This entry was posted in Painting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to New Year Resolve

  1. Viscerally exciting colors! You’ll know my goals soon enough, bwahahah!

  2. seafordvilla says:

    Hi, Karen,
    Susie here. Love the pastel piece. Great color and wonderful design. As for resolutions, I’m with you – more the declaration kinda girl. Just so I can declare this publicly, I will complete “The Eyes Have It” for a show in early February – 8 pieces. Another is to have a marketing system that works well and sells art by end of first quarter. Blessings to you, my dear. I’m so happy you’re getting up and around. I know you are too.
    Susie

  3. Sharon Klein says:

    Happy New Year to you and your family.

    I agree totally with you. I stopped making resolutions years ago. If you set goals you can keep adjusting how you attain the goal and that is what makes them more attainable. I just read recently if someone is still keeping there resolution by Valentine’s Day then it will stick.

Leave a Reply

