Taking The Next Step

It was wonderful having my boot cast removed this week and being told by the surgeon that the broken bones had healed!  It felt liberating, transitional, an opportunity to begin anew where I had left off more than two months ago.  But then he said I would need the walker and later, a cane before I could expect to walk free.  And I couldn’t drive again until after seeing him again in another four weeks.  “What do you mean?“ I wanted to shout. “ If I’m healed, why can’t I walk?”

Probably the most surprising thing about that day was when I put my foot down to use it—it REALLY hurt!  Now, I’m not a woos about pain and had actually not had any serious pain since the surgery.  I tried not to complain too much because nobody wants to hear it.  But now was when the pain started!

Every fiber in my being wants to kick up my heels, scamper down my front steps and skip up the block.  Or so I thought, until I started taking my initial painful steps.  This did not feel good.  It was very tempting to sit down in the wheelchair and go back to rolling around my house.

Today, on my first visit to the physical therapist since having the big cast off (I still have an air cast), she ran me through a litany of exercises a page long.  Some were just uncomfortable and others really hurt.  She’s ordered me to give up my big wheels and walk on my own two (well, maybe one and a half) feet.

It’s a bit of a metaphor for life itself.  For a long time, I have been wanting to gain gallery representation but putting myself out there to the galleries was a really painful step.  But, with some special encouragement from painter-friend, Cathy Hegman, I put myself out there.  Result—my work is being represented by a charming establishment in Albertson, Long Island, NY called The Robley Gallery (174 I U Willets, Road, 516-746-5960).   I hope you’ll go visit if you are in the area. Here are some pictures.

Here’s a closer look at the painting in the window–“Forest”.

oil on boardTry that next step, it won’t be painful for long.  Are there any that you’ve been hesitating to do because of the pain?

About karenfriedland

I am a visual artist-- painter, sculptor, photographer-- coloring the world. My travels take me to many places around the world and I love connecting with others at home and on my trips. I am also a teacher (art), business person and creativity and business coach. My website is: www.ArtistKaren.com. I am so glad you have visited my blog!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Taking The Next Step

  1. Your paintings look gorgeous–and right at home–in the gallery! I am kvelling! And your guts are giving me inspiration for my ‘scary next step’…spring craft shows!?! for miniature books! Looking forward to walks in the park soon, so grit those teeth girl…

Leave a Reply

