Six Weeks Up/Two Feet Down

After having endured six weeks since my surgery, a total of seven weeks, one day since the accident, today was a day of liberation!  I was able to “kick the boot,” as it were, by instruction of my surgeon and was told I could start walking on the broken, now mended, foot.  They gave me a small “air cast” to wear inside my sneaker (a rather snug fit) and said to start walking, first with walker, then cane and, in the next four weeks or so, on my own power.  Hooray!!!!  I am thrilled!!!

The surprising part was that when I went to put weight on the previously unused foot, it really hurt!  This really caught me off guard because the rest of the process (except for the surgery, which was awful), was relatively painless.  How odd that the post healing is the part that really hurts!  Go and figure.  But I will trudge on…

No funny associations with my artwork but thought I’d share this one, Rug Shop – Morocco, as it would be really nice to be there now, taking a snooze on the pile of rugs.

 

About karenfriedland

I am a visual artist-- painter, sculptor, photographer-- coloring the world. My travels take me to many places around the world and I love connecting with others at home and on my trips. I am also a teacher (art), business person and creativity and business coach. My website is: www.ArtistKaren.com. I am so glad you have visited my blog!
This entry was posted in Painting, Recovery and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Six Weeks Up/Two Feet Down

  1. Cathy Hegman says:

    Yay!!! Kick up your heels….wait….on second thought don’t do that!! 🙂

  2. Yee-hah! Feet on the ground (and undoubtedly in front of an easel)!!

Leave a Reply

