Jonesing For Footwear

Coming home from the hospital ER was my introduction to a new kind of footwear.  I spent the first three weeks after the accident with my right foot in a cream colored fiberglass tube, wrapped in an ace bandage to keep together the two parts it was cut into to allow for swelling.  Old style casts were heavy but their pristine white surface lent itself so well to artwork and friends’ autographs, but it was replaced by a much less responsive canvas.  Luckily, my daughter decorated my cast with Trogdor and “Mom = AWESOME.”  That cheered me up!

Suffering through that, I was happy when my cast was replaced with the boot brace/cast I am currently wearing.  It’s larger than the former cast, with a gigantic, hard plastic sole and foot with wide braces going up each side to my knee.  Inside it has a soft lining and is held together with five straps of industrial strength velcro.  All in basic black except for the blue ball near the top, a pump to inflate it.

No one offered to sign it so (since I have a lot of time on my hands) I went to work on it.  I think it is now much more of a fashion statement.  Of course, accompanying it with a sneaker on my left foot takes me out of

the fashion fast lane.

While jonesing for real footwear, I did this drawing of what I’d like to wear in better times.

What kind of footwear are you jonesing for?

About karenfriedland

I am a visual artist-- painter, sculptor, photographer-- coloring the world. My travels take me to many places around the world and I love connecting with others at home and on my trips. I am also a teacher (art), business person and creativity and business coach. My website is: www.ArtistKaren.com. I am so glad you have visited my blog!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Jonesing For Footwear

  1. Amirh says:

    Beautiful boot brace!

  2. Shayna says:

    Mom that looks so cool! Gotta love sharpies and paint pens!

    PS. Please put that shoe into production. I would like to wear it all the time.

  3. Someone already suggested that I create a boot/cast decorating business! Do you think there’s gold in them thar hills?

  4. Cathy Hegman says:

    Oh my can shoe design be far behind in your career!!!! Tim Gunn get ready!!!!!

Leave a Reply

