New Way of Counting

Day 13 — that is, since the surgery.  It is really 21 days -THREE WEEKS – since the fall but I had to wait 8 days before they could perform the surgery, waiting for the swelling to go down.  Of course, recovery can only begin once the bones are set (with plate and screws), so the first 8 days don’t count for anything but suffering.  Hence, I’ve created a new way of counting: the day of the accident is Day (minus)-8, counting down to zero day – surgery – and going forward from there.

I am very excited about tomorrow, day 14, because I am getting the staples out! Yay!  Since there are incisions on both sides of my ankle, I am hoping that this will feel a lot better.  Also getting a new cast, possibly a boot cast (better still since I could remove it for bathing), but still gimping around without putting it down.  My hopping skills keep improving and tomorrow I am supposed to have the first visit from a physical therapist.  All this plus election day (Don’t forget to vote) and I’m not sure I can stand the excitement!

While sitting on my duff, I am working on getting my work out to the world.  Just entered a painting in the Lexington Art League’s competition, NUDE 2011.

BLUE NUDE

BLUE NUDE Acrylic 30" x 22"

This is a painting I did a couple of years ago, when I was drawing figure at the Art Students League in New York City.  I don’t usually paint the nude figure, generally preferring a clothed model which lends itself a bit more naturally to my love of pattern.   But the Art Students League only had nude models and I drew them very large, maybe 4 or 5 feet by 3 feet, and loved the flow and movement I had when drawing so large.  Needless to say, after a short time, I had reams of paper with drawings of nudes.  Just culling through them to find my subject was an impressive task.

I drew all body types but found I loved the more voluptuous–the curves and shapes drawing me in through their movement.  The skinny-minis were so ordinary and uninteresting by comparison.  When I came to painting her, I decided not to rely on devises I frequently enjoy, such as pattern and created a principally monochromatic painting that depends on value, tonality and brushwork to keep the viewer traveling over the roadmap of this form.  Because reality was never an issue, I used open color (non-naturalistic) to depict my nude.  A departure for me, this is what keeps creativity fresh and I still love to look at her form.

Do you have a favorite nude?  Or do you like them better clothed?

About karenfriedland

I am a visual artist-- painter, sculptor, photographer-- coloring the world. My travels take me to many places around the world and I love connecting with others at home and on my trips. I am also a teacher (art), business person and creativity and business coach. My website is: www.ArtistKaren.com. I am so glad you have visited my blog!
This entry was posted in Painting, Recovery and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to New Way of Counting

  1. Cathy Hegman says:

    Great Post my dear! Hope the destapling will make it more bearable. I like the clothed better to or at least partially clothed…Get well soon!

Leave a Reply

