SO MANY CHOICES!

Session 2 on the Collage With Artist Made Papers was filled is more paper making and working on our landscape collages.  Lots of fun making all sorts of papers to supplement the paste paper we made last session.

Drawing straight from the tube and misting with water.

Drawing straight from the tube and misting with water.

Drawing with a candle. Resist.

Drawing with a candle. Resist.

Blended, graduated colors.

Blended, graduated colors.

Watercolor covered with plastic wrap.

Watercolor covered with plastic wrap.

    All of these papers were add to the palette of papers that were then available for creating.  The collages we were creating were to be based on nature–land or seascape.     The example I provided for the students I created to evoke landscapes.

6" x 9" Collage with artist painted papers by Karen Friedland

6″ x 9″ Collage with artist painted papers by Karen Friedland

6" x 9" collage of artist made papers by Karen Friedland

6″ x 9″ collage of artist made papers by Karen Friedland

Collection and array of papers in preparation.

Collection and array of papers in preparation.

June working with a wide paper palette.

June working with a wide paper palette.

We then started tearing the papers, leaving beautiful white edges and irregular shapes that created a lot of interest.  Composing requires a lot of arranging and playing with the paper in order to put together the piece. Here is the time that we find that we “get in the zone” and play!  These creative decisions can take you in many directions.

Sandy working on her paper composition.

Sandy working on her paper composition.

So many choices!

So many choices!

About karenfriedland

I am a visual artist-- painter, sculptor, photographer-- coloring the world. My travels take me to many places around the world and I love connecting with others at home and on my trips. I am also a teacher (art), business person and creativity and business coach. My website is: www.ArtistKaren.com. I am so glad you have visited my blog!
This entry was posted in Achievemnt, Classes, collage, COLOR, Inspiration, paste paper, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to SO MANY CHOICES!

  1. Artuitive says:

    Karen, I love what you’re doing. So inspiring. Today I’m visiting the studio of Jackie Nach, a collage artist from South Africa. I may be subletting her studio at the Santa Monica Art Studios for May, while she’s travelling. I’ve been wanting to do more collage and your post just put me in the perfect frame of mind to say “yes” – I will do more of this….fun is the name of the game, now that I’m going to be 70…egads, hard to believe. Love you, Susie

    > Coloring the World > April 16, 2014 at 4:48 AM > karenfriedland posted: “Session 2 on the Collage With Artist Made > Papers was filled is more paper making and working on our landscape > collages. Lots of fun making all sorts of papers to supplement the > paste paper we made last session. All of these papers ” >

Leave a Reply

