FIRST, MAKE THE PAPER

Yesterday I held the first of three sessions in my workshop on “Collage with Artist-Made Papers”. With this approach to collage, the colors, papers and imagery used are created by the artist herself. It has come a long way from cutting out pictures out of magazines and gluing them down on paper.
IMG_3371 IMG_3372 IMG_3374 IMG_3378 IMG_3387 IMG_3381 IMG_3389
Before you can get to the collaging, the actual gluing down, the materials that you will be composing with need to be created.
So yesterday was spent making “Paste Papers.” Paste Paper is a technique where pigment paint is mixed with a thick adhesive paste or glue and then applied to paper. It’s thick viscosity allows the artist to comb, texture and pattern the paper in many different ways, using a variety of implements including string, yogurt cups, bubble wrap, plastic forks and knives, and credit cards. Some of the papers had two applications of color giving greater depth and interest and liveliness to the patterns that were created.
Here are a few examples of the gorgeous papers that were made.  Fabulous material to be added to their artwork!
IMG_3375
“The creation of an art collage from the soul is an inner journey that allows your soul to speak to you. Your soul’s voice can be heard through the images, feelings and insights that surface.”
        -Kathleen Carrillo

About karenfriedland

I am a visual artist-- painter, sculptor, photographer-- coloring the world. My travels take me to many places around the world and I love connecting with others at home and on my trips. I am also a teacher (art), business person and creativity and business coach. My website is: www.ArtistKaren.com. I am so glad you have visited my blog!
This entry was posted in Classes, collage, COLOR, Learning, Painting, paste paper, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment